Emma and David have been playing together in various settings, from duo to big band, for the past few years and have a fantastic interplay, drawing on the exciting flexibility of the guitar as a soloist and accompaniment instrument. The duo setting promises an interesting exploration of the roles of both instruments, and will draw on a shared love of a wide variety of music, from modern jazz through to fusion and the singer songwriter genre.

Emma Rawicz is a multi-award winning young saxophonist and composer, making waves on the UK music scene and beyond She has been described as “an astonishing new talent” (Jamie Cullum – BBC Radio 2), “a force to be reckoned with” (Jazzwise) and “a fast-rising star” (London Jazz News). At the age of 21 she has already recorded and independently released an eagerly awaited debut album ‘Incantation’ made up entirely of her original compositions. In April 2023 Emma signed to major European Jazz label ACT and Emma’s second album, Chroma, recorded in summer 2022 with an all-star band was released by ACT in August 2023. Chroma was The Guardian’s album of the month with John Fordham saying ” With ‘Chroma’ young British jazz star Emma Rawicz is taking admirable risks and continuing her warp-speed evolution.”

David Preston is a guitarist and composer based in London, UK. A finalist at the 2009 Montreux International Guitar competition, David has been active as a sideman to a variety of notable cross-generational UK musicians such as Jeremy Stacey, Lianne La Havas, Nathaniel Facey, Asaf Sirkis, Peter Ind, Emma Rawicz, Eska, Goldie & the Heritage Orchestra, Jamie Murray, Michael Janisch and the internationally celebrated piano and drum virtuoso Gary Husband. He is composer and co-leader for the critically acclaimed UK modern-jazz trio ‘Preston Glasgow Lowe’ and has released two albums (’16 & ’18) of all-original music on UK/US label, Whirlwind Recordings. He has also performed/toured/recorded with many US artists such as Grammy-Winning US jazz vocalists Melody Gardot, Curtis Stigers & Jesse Harris, and notable US based musicians Sy Smith, David Binney, Ingrid Jensen, Patrick Cornelius and Tim Armacost. His new quartet album featuring Kit Downes, Seb Rochford and Kevin Glasgow was released in May 2023.